Minutes

OF THE EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF THE LONDON BOROUGH OF BARNET held at The Town Hall, Hendon, NW4, on Tuesday, 27 June 2006.

PRESENT:

*The Worshipful the Mayor (Councillor Eva Greenspan BA LL.B (Hons))

*The Deputy Mayor (Councillor Terry Burton)

Councillors:

*Maureen Braun	Christopher Harris BA BSc	*Sachin Rajput BA (Hons)
*Fiona Bulmer	MPhil	PgD Law
*Anita Campbell	*Helena Hart	*Robert Rams
* Wayne Casey BA (Hons)	*John Hart BA MA	*Barry Rawlings
MIIA	*Lynne Hillan	*Hugh Rayner
Danish Chopra	*Ross Houston	*Colin Rogers
*Dean Cohen BSc (Hons)	*Anne Hutton	*Lisa Rutter
*Jack Cohen	*Julie Johnson	*Brian Salinger
*Melvin Cohen LLB	*Duncan Macdonald	Kate Salinger BEd (Hons)
*Brian Coleman, AM, FRSA	*Caroline Margo	*Gill Sargeant
*Geof Cooke	*John Marshall	*Joan Scannell
*Richard Cornelius	*Linda McFadyen	*Alan Schneiderman
Jeremy Davies BA (Hons),	*Kath McGuirk	*Agnes Slocombe SRN RM
CPFA	*Andrew McNeil	*Ansuya Sodha MBA (Middx)
*Mukesh Depala	*Alison Moore	Cert Ed, DipM (CIM), AMBA
*Jane Ellison	Jazmin Naghar	*Andreas Tambourides
*Olwen Evans ACIS	*Matthew Offord	*Daniel Thomas
Claire Farrier	Charlie O-Macauley	*Jim Tierney
*Anthony Finn BSc (Econ)	*Monroe Palmer OBE, BA,	*Daniel Webb
FCA	FCA	*Richard Weider
*Mike Freer	*Susette Palmer MA	*Marina Yannoudakis MA BSc
Brian Gordon, LL.B	*Bridget Perry	*Zakia Zubairi
*Andrew Harper	*Wendy Prentice	

*denotes Member present

20. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE (Agenda Item 2)

Apologies were received from Councillors Jazmin Naghar, Christopher Harris and Kate Salinger.

21. MEMBERS' MOTION (Agenda Item 3)

The Motion at Agenda Item 3 was moved by Councillor Mike Freer. Debate ensued. Upon being put to the vote, the motion was carried. **RESOLVED** –

(1) That, in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act, 1972, the Council of the London Borough of Barnet do confer upon the Chief Rabbi of the United Hebrew Congregations of The Commonwealth, Sir Jonathan Sacks, the Honorary Freedom of the London Borough of Barnet (being the most honourable award it is the Council's privilege to bestow) in recognition of the eminent services rendered by the Chief Rabbi, Sir Jonathan Sacks, to the development and enhancement of the Anglo - Jewish community and the promotion of inter- faith understanding and community cohesion, within the borough, nationally and internationally.

The Council are proud to recall the long association that Sir Jonathan Sacks has had with the London Borough of Barnet, including his education at Christ College School, his time as the Rabbi at Dunstan Road Synagogue and that the Office of the Chief Rabbi continues to be based in the borough.

In conferring the Honorary Freedom on Sir Jonathan Sacks, the Council are recording formally the high esteem in which he is held by the Council and the community of the London Borough of Barnet and his invaluable and immeasurable contribution to the life of the borough, to the nation and across the globe.

(2) That, in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act, 1972, the Council of the London Borough of Barnet do confer upon Leslie Sussman, MBE, the Honorary Freedom of the London Borough of Barnet (being the most honourable award it is the Council's privilege to bestow) in recognition of the eminent services rendered by Leslie Sussman MBE to local government, in general, over a period of 45 years, and the Council of the London Borough of Barnet in particular.

The Council recall Leslie Sussman's immense contribution to the life of the borough during the 38 years he served on the Council of the London Borough of Barnet. The Council honours that contribution and pays tribute to the exemplary record and dignity of Leslie Sussman MBE as a Councillor of the London Borough of Barnet and as its Mayor during 1984/85.

In conferring this Honorary Freedom upon Leslie Sussman MBE the Council recognise a community leader, an eminent citizen and an outstanding democrat.

(3) Council hereby instructs the Democratic Services Manager in consultation with the Worshipful the Mayor to make the appropriate arrangements.

The meeting finished at 6.31 pm